June goals!

New month, new goals! I’ve never really been one for setting whole month goals but I think it’s about time I got myself into gear and followed suit with everyone’s #monthlymotivation posts.

Goal 1 – Consistently run 3 times a week EVERY week in June, regardless of distance…

Sounds simple right?! I was reading an interesting article on Running Bug – How Often Should I Run – and it talked about the three variables we control; distance, frequency, intensity/speed. It made a very good point that you shouldn’t really try to increase/work on more than one of those things at a time. So I have decided to work on consistency, which is something I’ve often struggled with.

May calendar total

As you can see I’m pretty much there with a consistent twice a week run, so lets step it up!

Goal 2 – Hit 50km for the whole month of June…

June total milage goal

Now this sounds a bit contradictory to my previous statement on only working on frequency, but bear with! As you can see from the above, I love a graph FYI, is that i hit 45KM in May anyway with only two runs a week, so it goes hand in hand that I’d make it to 50 for June.

It works out roughly to 12.5km each week for four weeks. So that’s a 3.4, a 4 and a parkrun 5 or longer at the weekend. Sounds achievable right?

Another point from this graph, you can clearly see where I’ve turned to running to cope with life.. Mum started to deteriorate in June, She passed away in September and life ‘returned to normal’ in October. I also found January particularly hard, with all the new year’s resolutions etc. at a time when it felt a bit like my life was over. Running is still a great outlet for me, and achieving consistency will also help me keep my mental health stable.

Goal 3 – Loose 2lbs to hit the same weight as June 2016…

Now this is one I don’t really talk about much. As well as upping my running I’m actively trying to lose weight with WeightWatchers. I lost about 22lbs in 2016, up until July when other things took priority. From July 2016 – Dec 2016 i put back on about 11lbs, which is nowhere near as bad as I thought it would be when I got back on the scales.

My goal is to get back to my June 2016 weight which was my lowest of that year, and also takes me to just 11lbs away from my current goal weight.

I’m not sure if running has helped or hindered my weight loss? You would have thought helped, but I find on days I run I’m so hungry I find it really hard to stick within my points. I also find it a bit of a get of jail card ‘oh I’m over on points today but i ran 5k yesterday so it’s levels out’…

Has anyone got any tips or ideas on running and staying on a weight loss plan?

But there you go, those are my three June goals;

  1. Goal 1 – Consistently run 3 times a week EVERY week in June, regardless of distance…
  2. Goal 2 – Hit 50km for the whole month of June…
  3. Goal 3 – Loose 2lbs to hit the same weight as June 2016…

Let’s do this!

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

